“Return of The Voice” DVD


Russell’s much anticipated DVD  “Return of The Voice – Live At The Royal Albert Hall” was released on 7th November 2011.

This features his amazing concert at The Royal Albert Hall in May of that year, almost at the end of his UK “comeback” Tour, after  recovering from his second brain tumour.

This is so much more than a concert; it is an experience of the greatest musical and emotional magnitude.”






< Note
….Souvenir Booklet
….written by Russell


“The spotlight was very much on the man with one of the most sensational singing voices the world has ever known.  Accompanied by the 48-piece Arts Symphonic Orchestra*, led by Lizzie Ball with conductor Robert Emery, the Capital Voices and an 80-strong backing choir.  What a magical sight and what a magnificent sound.”

* The sleeve notes credit the National Symphony Orchestra but they are incorrect.

The Track List :

  1. Somewhere
  2. Be My Love
  3. Intermezzo (from Cavalleria Rusticana)
  4. 20th Century Film Suite ‘II Gladiatore’
  5. Parlami D’amore Mariu
  6. Volare
  7. Funiculi Funicula
  8. Phantom of the Opera Suite
  9. Parla Piu Piano (love theme from The Godfather)
  10. That’s Life Suite / Strangers in the Night
  11. I Left My Heart In San Francisco
  12. Io Che Non Vivo
  13. The Impossible Dream
  14. Nessun Dorma
  15. Can’t Help Falling In Love
  16. Bring Him Home
  17. O Holy Night
  18. Jerusalem
  19. Land of Hope And Glory
  20. Someone To Remember Me


ITV1 transmitted a heavily edited version of the concert recording on 26th November 2011 that didn’t really do it justice but Sky TV broadcast the full version on their Sky Arts channels.

The following is now somewhat out-of-date but left here for reference :

If you are Sky TV customer with ‘On Demand’ you’ll find it available to download at any time  at no extra cost.  However, the information page for the programme indicates that it will be deleted from ‘On Demand’ at 10.59 pm on 30th March 2017, so catch it while you can in case it is no longer added to scheduled broadcasts after that date.

If you don’t have Sky TV, copies of the DVD are available from the merchandise stall at Russell’s concert venues and from his online shop.

Copies can also be had from such as Amazon and it’s also possible to download the video from iTunes as an outright purchase to watch whenever you want, as often as you want, or as a rental to watch just once …

Capture _ Rturn of the Voice on iTunes

If you opt to rent it, be aware of the Terms & Conditions.  The download will begin immediately and you’ll have 30 days in which to watch it.  Also, once you start the playback, you’ll have only 48 hours in which to finish watching it … so it will need a quiet couple of hours with no interruptions … which it deserves, of course, but better, we think, to buy a genuine copy of the DVD from Russell’s shop and enjoy it again and again at your leisure.


Lace DVD  ¦  Format  :  PAL  ¦  Region Code  :  0  ¦  5 03789004685 >  ¦ 132 minutes  ¦



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.